Annual Report 2023: HIIT Board

The highest decision-making body of HIIT is the Board. It decides on HIIT’s overall research strategy and research programmes. The statutory tasks of the Board are to approve the annual budget and activity plans, and follow up and comment on the work of HIIT through regular activity updates given by the Director of HIIT. In 2023 the Board convened three times.

The HIIT Board consists of eight members, each with a personal deputy. Both parent universities appoint two academic members. In addition, they appoint together three members who are not employed by either university. One member is elected by HIIT personnel.

From 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2026, the Board consisted of the following members (personal deputies in parentheses):

  • Chairman: Dean, Professor Jouko Lampinen, Aalto (Professor Peter Liljeroth, Aalto)
  • Vice chairman: Dean, Professor Sasu Tarkoma, UH (Professor Samuli Siltanen, UH)
  • Professor Janne Lindqvist, Aalto (University Lecturer Talayeh Aledavood, Aalto)
  • Professor Jussi Kangasharju, UH (Professor Valtteri Niemi, UH)
  • Executive Vice President, Tua Huomo, VTT  (Research Professor, Heikki Ailisto, VTT)
  • Chief Policy Adviser Mika Tuuliainen, Confederation of Finnish IndustriesExecutive  (Director Riikka Heikinheimo, Confederation of Finnish Industries)
  • Until March 2023: Director Mervi Karikorpi, Technology Industries of Finland, From April onwards: Head of New Technologies Erkki Ahola, Technology Industries of Finland until March 2023 (Director Ville Peltola, Technology Industries of Finland)
  • Personnel representative: Professor Pekka Marttinen, Aalto (Until October 2023: Research Coordinator Niko Mäkitalo, UH; From October 2023: Research Fellow, Alan Medlar, UH)

The Director of HIIT, Professor Petri Myllymäki, is responsible for preparing and submitting propositions to the Board.

The Secretary of the Board in 2023 was HIIT’s Vice-Director Patrik Floréen.

Pictured Board from 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2026: Jouko Lampinen, Sasu Tarkoma, Janne Lindqvist, Jussi Kangasharju, Tua Huomo, Mika Tuuliainen, rkki Ahola, Pekka Marttinen